Cross Training

Posted: July 16, 2010 in Training

If pushing a mower or hauling kids around counts as cross training then I guess I cross train. I find that doing most of what you intend to do on race day works best and for me that is running. I believe in a minimalistic approach when it comes to long distances similar to other ultra marathoners. If I feel good one day then I’ll run hard and if I feel terrible the next I won’t. I also run for time rather than distance which I think is the best approach.

Recently I tried doing jump rope because I figured it is practically the same motions as running, but I soon learned I don’t have the stamina for that. About five minutes wore me out more than running a half marathon, literally. For now I’ll stick to running.

Leave a Reply

