Burning holes.

Posted: October 14, 2010 in Gear

I finally ran more than three miles for the first time in a long time. I’m a little sore, but I’m getting back into running shape. On my last run while I was running on the trail I noticed my left foot felt like it had a rock in it. Later on in the run I went on a section of pavement and the feeling went away. So after the run I took off my vibrams and checked to see if I had any rocks in my shoe. Nothing there but I noticed my left foot had a dirty spot on it. I thought it was unusual but didn’t think much of it.

Well today I went to put on my shoes and noticed there was a big hole in the ball of the sole of my left foot. Turns out that rock was actually rocks I was stepping on. I guess I am just used to running with practically no soles. The shoes I have now, according to my runkeeper log, have about 900 miles on them. It is about time for a new pair, but I think I’m going to repair this shoe with some Shoe Goo and see how that works. It’ll be nice to use them as a backup pair or a pair to get dirty in on days it rains. I’m thinking about getting the Bilkias for my next shoe. I love the new minimalist shoes New Balance has coming out but I don’t think I can wait five months for them to come out.

Leave a Reply

