Fall is here.

Posted: November 4, 2010 in Gear

When the weather changes so does my running frequency. I have relaxed quite a bit and stopped running in the evenings since I ran the recent fast 5k with my dog. Part of me is burnt out on running but another part is just adjusting to the new cold weather slowly. I don’t mind running in the cold or snowy weather, it is just that I hate running in rain with temps between 32-50 degrees. This in my opinion is the most miserable weather to run in because when your wet you stay cold. Whereas anything below 32 degrees would just be freezing and you would just have to interact with snow or ice. Unfortunately, depends on how you look at it, the majority of Texas rarely sees temperatures below freezing. That means for a few short months running can be in that miserable range I hate.

In anticipation of winter I have received a pair of finger socks as a birthday gift to wear with my vibrams. This should cover me in fairly cold temps but I’m afraid the below freezing temps I am going to want more on my feet. That is why I think I’m going to either run in my old shoes or get a new pair. Ideally I would like a minimalist road shoe and a trail shoe for the winter, but just one pair should do me fine. Hopefully Santa will bring me a pair this year. If not I’m going to need more Shoe-goo.

Leave a Reply

