Caffeine

Posted: December 3, 2010 in Nutrition

I’ve posted before, I don’t drink coffee at all. Mostly because I can’t stand the taste and also I can’t drink it fast because it’s always too hot. Well this recent scientific article that has just been published is going around the net today discusses the benefit of caffeine for endurance athletes. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21120518

To sum it up the researchers have concluded that caffeine has increased endurance in cyclists in cold temperatures as well as hot. I don’t doubt this one bit. I would jump on the caffeine coffee train with everyone else, but I don’t want to get addicted to the legal drug. Coming off any caffeine addiction is a bitch. I can feel effects from not drinking tea so I can imagine how bad coffee would be.

For now I’m still very wary of drinking caffeine repeatedly. As other studies have shown you get no real “perk” from drinking coffee every day. http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE65138U20100602

Leave a Reply

