One month down one to go.

Posted: August 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been 6 weeks since I’ve done anything faster than a walk. I’ve seen no reason to write anything here simply because I haven’t done anything. I have at least four weeks till I can get back into a slow jog. The average time to heal from a stress fracture in the leg is about 8 to 10 weeks so I plan to go the full 10 weeks. The only thing I can do now is get plenty of calcium and vitamin D in my body.

Occasionally I’ll read other runners go through the depression of an injury. Not until now I can now relate to them. You go through the same emotions/stages as you do with death. It’s shock, denial, anger, frustration, depression and acceptance. I’ve gone through all of them and now just accepted the fact that this has happened and moved on. I’ve also grasped the concept that you can’t be defined by something in particular. There are just too many things in life to do. However that does not mean you abandon all hope and give up. I look at this as a complete refresh on my way of life and look forward to the days of going through the trails with my dog.

Leave a Reply

