Little setback.

Posted: March 7, 2012 in Injuries

I was on a 27 week streak of running injury free until my ankle got sore. I would run through it but it’s sore in a pinpoint spot so I have taken running off completely in fear of getting a stress fracture again. I’ve been tempted to run through the pain like I have in the past but it’s better to be safe than sorry when it comes to injuries. All I can do now is rest and eat right.

Like most injuries I’ve learned from my mistakes. This time it I believe it was from not recovery long enough from a slight ankle sprain which I got from hiking with the wife. I thought I was fine but I went ahead and did a speed workout followed by a long run on pavement because the trail I normally run on was flooded. So to sum it up I believe the source comes from a mixture of a mild sprain, lack of recovery, pavement run and also it wouldn’t hurt if I got new shoes. Oh well. You live and learn.

Leave a Reply

